Jobless Corner

Central Park Nairobi - where I muse in tranquil

WATCHING WEIGHTS

A yawn here

A dream there

Rumbling stomachs all over.

Lunchtime at lunchless park

Our hungry faces litter the park.

You sat by me in my corner,

Cheap skirt-suit to impress panels

Worn out shoes tired of the tarmac

A haggard envelope carrying your credentials

Lying on your tired thighs – the real credentials?

You yawned

I saw a  dream die in your eyes

As your rumbling stomach confirmed my fears.

Lunchless? I asked,

It wasn’t your bitter look that amused me

It was your answer –

Am watching my weight!

© Otiato Opali

Leave a Reply

